Pitopito Kōrero News & Updates

Hiwinui Heke Scholarship Recipients

Published March 20 2017

Congratulations to the winners of the 2017 Hiwinui Heke Scholarships! These scholarships are jointly awarded by PHARMAC and The Māori Pharmacists’ Association and are open to Māori students who are enrolled in The Bachelor of Pharmacy programme. The scholarships are named after Hiwinui Heke, the first Māori pharmacist, who was a great leader in his community. He worked with the community to improve health, not just through medicine use and access to healthcare, but also through his commitment to the land and natural environment, protecting its use for generations to come.

The award carries with it the mana and prestige of Matua Hiwinui and we were humbled to have his son Matthew and grandson Kereama present to help present the awards on 11th March, at our hui-a-tau.

The overall winner was Polly Brown (Ngāti Kahungunu, Otago School of Pharmacy) who receives $5,000. She is pictured with Matthew Heke and Ātene Andrews (PHARMAC).


The other winners were Chantae Bridges (Ngāti Tūwharetoa, Otago School of Pharmacy, $2,500), pictured with her parents who were able to join us for the presentation, as well as Matthew Heke and Ātene Andrews )

chantae edit

and Natalia Hunt (Te Āti Awa, Auckland School of Pharmacy, $2,500) pictured with Kereama Heke and Ātene Andrews.

natalia edit

These winners all showed knowledge and connect with their whakapa as well as being committed to improving health outcomes for Māori and involvement with The Māori Pharmacists Association. We look forward to following through their career!