Pitopito Kōrero News & Updates

Te Hapai Hauora Award Winners

Published August 9 2017

Congratulations to Ian McMichael, Sam Martin and Joyce Maipi who won the Te Hapai Hauora Award at the Pharmacy Today awards held in Auckland in July.

The award was granted in recognition of the work they have done in developing a new service model. It is was based on an integrated approach to healthcare provision and followed kaupapa Māori principles, with the ability to be adapted to other communities across New Zealand. This entry showed the importance of ongoing effective relationships and how these can be built and developed over time. It built on the model of care for which Sam Martin and Teei Kaiaruna were finalists in this category last year. Hear more from the winners of the Te Hapai Hauora Award 2017 below:

Since 2008, Huntly West Pharmacy, which Sam Martin co-owns with Ian, has worked collaboratively with Waahi Medical Centre (owned and operated by Raukura Hauora o Tainui) to provide integrated healthcare to the local whānau of Huntly West. A trusting relationship developed between the practice and the pharmacy and the benefits of working more closely together became apparent to both parties.

 Due to the success of the Waahi Centre collaboration with Huntly West Pharmacy, a further relationship was developed between Pharmacy 547 and Raukura Hauora o Tainui. This collaboration lead to a satellite cell of Pharmacy 547 being situated within the Medical Centre located in Enderley. Whānau are triaged by the practice nurse and the pharmacy is able to provide all dispensing services, CPAMS, Smoking cessation, MUR-type consultations, LTC Consults, ECP, and Influenza vaccination.

 The collaboration evolved to where it is today, built upon relationships of trust, sharing similar values and goals, and where all parties were committed to working together towards a common goal of achieving better health outcomes for their local population.

Photo courtesy of Pharmacy Today. Left to right: Tuwhakairiora Williams (Chair of PRISM), Ian McMichael, Sam Martin, Joyce Maipi