Pitopito Kōrero News & Updates

Pharmacy Council members appointed

Published February 12 2016



The Maori Pharmacists Association (MPA) are proud and excited to have 2 members on the Pharmacy Council. Leanne Te Karu, a founding member of MPA is currently serving her second term and Arthur Bauld is one of the new appointments to the Pharmacy Council for 2016. Arthur was also a founding member of MPA and last year received the Pharmaceutical Society award for significant and outstanding service to Maori.



Arthur pictured here when he received award in June 2015 from PSNZ


The significance here for MPA is that both Leanne and Arthur were the dynamic duo that worked together for years to bring about the association now known as Nga Kaitiaki o Te Puna Rongoa o Aotearoa (Maori Pharmacists Association). It was their drive and determination in the face of adversity, that provided the foundation for the association that now has more than 120 members and continues to strive towards its vision

“To lead Māori responsiveness in the Pharmacy Sector in the development and delivery of services aimed to increase medicines optimisation for Māori and ultimately improve Māori Health outcomes.”


MPA continue to encourage and support young Maori who have an interest in science and health to follow a pathway into pharmacy and becoming qualified as pharmacists. Pharmacy schools are located in both Auckland University and the University of Otago where students are supported to complete their studies and become part of the profession. MPA run annual student hui that allow for Maori students from both schools to enjoy some whakawhanaungatanga and be mentored by Maori pharmacists working in a variety of jobs.



Other new Pharmacy Council members include Iain Buchanan, as a pharmacist member, and Lynnette Flowers as a lay member. Mark Bedford, Jeff Harrison and Marie Bennett have been reappointed as pharmacist members and Viv Gurrey has been reappointed as lay member.



Over the next three years, the council will be working to implement the organisation’s 2016 – 2020 strategy which focuses on enhancing patient safety, health outcomes and public wellness through excellence in pharmacy practice, he says.


The Pharmacy Council is scheduled to meet in Wellington on 23 and 24 February. Profiles can be found here on the Pharmacy Council website.